Federal Communications Commission is an independent United States agency regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. territories. The commission is the United States' primary authority for communications law, regulation, and technological innovation.

Federal Communications Commission capitalizes on its competencies in promoting competition, innovation, and investment in broadband services and facilities; supporting the nation's economy by ensuring an appropriate competitive framework for the unfolding of the communications revolution; encouraging the highest use of spectrum domestically and internationally; revising media regulations so that new technologies improve alongside diversity and localism; and providing leadership in strengthening the defense of the nation's communications infrastructure.

Federal Communications Commission is directed by five commissioners who are appointed by the president of the United States and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. The agency was formed in 1934 and is headquartered in Washington, D.C. with additional offices in Illinois, Missouri, California, Michigan, and New York.